About

Purple Heart Information

The Purple Heart medal is awarded to those who have been wounded or killed while serving with the US Military. Established by George Washington in 1782 as the Badge of Military Merit, the Purple Heart’s order includes the phrase “Let it be known that he who wears the military order of the Purple Heart has given of his blood in the defense of his homeland and shall forever be revered by his fellow countrymen.”

The first Purple Heart Dinner was organized in Wake Forest, NC 9 years ago and are now organized in cities across NC.

With every new year, we average honoring over 90 Purple Heart recipients, 11 Gold Star Mothers and 14 families of those Killed in Action, with over 900 people in attendance. Our purpose is to honor and thank Purple Heart recipients who shed their blood for our Country, while also honoring Gold Star Mothers and the families of those KIA.

Purple Heart Dinner Committee

Michael Johnson
Chair of the Sandhills PH Dinner Committee
johnsonmichael5@frontier.com

Virginia Scott
Vice Chair
Virginia.Scott@walmart.com

Mark Lynch
Vice Chair
mark@qualitysoundinc.com

Cara Coleman
Social Media/Registration
Cara@carolinabenefits.net

Deborah O’Neil
Volunteer Coordinator
debdo.fay@gmail.com

Major Laura Downing
Gold Star Mothers
LDowning@ci.fay.nc.us

Lt. Todd Joyce
Media
tjoyce@ci.fay.nc.us

Jim Strickland
Purple Heart Registration
jim.strickland@haveanicebank.com

Sarah Reid
Sponsor Coordinator
sandhillsphdinnersponsorships@gmail.com

Craig Hardy
Treasurer
craighardy02@yahoo.com

adminAbout